203-594-3638 [email protected]
Select Page


Cecily Newhouse, Jeanne McDonaugh and Norm Jensen

On October 27 we hosted our first Annual Volunteer Appreciation Reception to recognize and thank the many volunteers who are an integral part of the Carriage Barn.

Our volunteers donate their time in various ways: they receive artwork for our shows, hang and place the works in the Gallery, and at the close of the shows assist in returning the artwork to the artists. Our volunteers “barnsit” which entails being at the Carriage Barn to field phone calls, greet visitors and act as docents.  They help with receptions and mailings. Without their dedication, much of what we do would not be possible.

First Selectman Jeb Walker joined Board of Trustees President Deborah Haines in thanking the volunteers for their efforts.  Several lucky volunteers went home with fabulous trinkets.   Bärbel Green, Board of Trustees member and owner of Bärbel Jewelry, donated quite a few gifts for the volunteer name draw.   Attendees included New Canaan Society for the Arts Board of Trustees members, curator, staff, and volunteers including  Chaz Ambuhl, Margie Avalino, George Baker, Jackie Flan, Cecily Garver, Jocelyn Glatthorn, Bob Green, Joan Guzzetti, Hal Higby, Norm Jensen, Jeanne McDonaugh, Kevin Stevens, Pat Stewart, Ceal Swift and Dick Ventre.

Adult refreshments were served and a great time was had by all!

Deborah Haines; Vincent Amato; Lydia Viscardi, Gallery Director and Curator

George Baker, et al